SAFER DRIVING STANDARDS - DON'T MAKE ME LAUGH!!

For most General Posts.
Forum rules
The articles and opinions written on this website , might not reflect the views of the site, We do not give legal advice and in no way are we responsible for what is written by our members

SAFER DRIVING STANDARDS - DON'T MAKE ME LAUGH!!

Postby FLYING COLOURS » Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:01 pm

WATCH THAT HGV DRIVER !!
I can't for the life of me, see how that under the "Health and Safety Gestapo" and eu sponsored "Road Traffic Acts" - that the new rules are made for safer driving. I have to spend up to £500 to obtain a "Certificate of Professional Competence" - (a certificate that up till now, only Transport Office Managers required.) - to allegedly show that i am competent to carry out my job of HGV Class One Lorry Driver - a job I have been doing for THIRTY YEARS. - - - At the same time - whilst we are allowed to reduce our rest periods from 11 hours to 9 hours - three times a week - we are not now required to "pay back" the rest hours borrowed, by the end of the following week!! So now, with unscrupulous bosses - you have a TIRED driver of a 44 Ton vehicle driving around with six hours less rest EVERY week !
Personally, I won't reduce my rest anymore - but at least i'm a safe driver.